Getting Crafty with it

8 Mar

The basic point of this post is to show off some crafty things I’ve been working on lately.  This winter has been especially cold and gross so I’ve been trying to keep busy with some little projects around the house.  Its been nice to feel productive during Annaliese’s naptime instead of just watching trashy TV.  Here are a few of my accomplishments:

1. New curtains and pillows for the playroom

Image

Image

Both of these things were so easy to make.  My mom graciously let me borrow her old sewing machine.  I bought both of the fabrics on fabric.com so the whole thing cost me under $40.  I am also in the process of painting the playroom.  I will definitely post pictures once the whole room is finished.  I love how its looking so far!

 

2. I also made a jumper for Annaliese.  Here is a picture of her wearing it on her Daddy-Daughter Date Night.

Image

I’ve never made clothing before (besides Annaliese’s Halloween costume) and it was a bit challenging.  Now that I know what I’m doing I might try something again for this summer.  That dress was hard work though!

 

3. I also made a felt board for Annaliese and I to play with.

Image

This one was insanely easy.  The whole thing cost me under $10.  I bought a cork board and covered it in black felt.  So far we only have a snowman to assemble but we are working on something spring themed.  I’m thinking butterflies or flowers.  Leave me a comment if you have another fun idea for our felt board!  I’d love to get creative with it like they do at our library story time.

 

4. This project is actually one that Chris created and I wanted to show off too!  He made a little highchair for Annaliese’s dolls.

Image

Isn’t it amazing?  He is quite talented.  I think we’ll paint it white to match the table and chairs in the playroom.

 

I have really been enjoying having things to keep me busy this winter.  I’m looking around now for a new project to work on because it doesn’t look like its warming up anytime soon.

8 Responses to “Getting Crafty with it”

  1. Laura March 8, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

    Loving the curtains and pillows!! The dress looks amazing and her smile shows she loves it too!!

  2. taylorkilburn March 8, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    Love the pillows and curtains! Wish we were close enough for craft dates!

    Two recommendations for a fun (EASY EASY, I mean one nap easy) sewing projects that I did and love love love love:

    http://retropolitanhip.blogspot.com/2012/05/from-3-ikea-floor-mat-to-flippin.html
    (I just used fabric and not an Ikea mat though, and I made mine a 24 inch square and we use it every single day and Sage LOVES to climb all over it!)

    This is probably the easies sewing project I have ever done with the highest reward because it looks amazing and the possibilities are ENDLESS!!
    http://www.danamadeit.com/2008/07/tutorial-crib-and-toddler-bed-sheets.html

    Happy crafting!

    • thebusybaby March 8, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

      Oh my gosh I love that little reading pillow thing. I remember you posting about that. What did you use to stuff yours?

      • taylorkilburn March 8, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

        The stuffing from 2 old bed pillows (haha) and 4 big bags of stuffing from the fabric store. It could have probably used even more stuffing because it has deflated a little.

  3. taylorkilburn March 8, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    Oh and also, I’m gonna need that jumper pattern 🙂

  4. Sarah March 18, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    I LOVE Chevron! You did a great job with the window treatments and pillows. Post pictures of the playroom when you are done painting.

    • thebusybaby March 18, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      Thanks! I will definitely post pictures. Its been quite the project…

Leave a Reply

Pregnancy & Parenting: The Real Deal

What pregnancy and parenting are really like

life with my busy bee

Chester County Moms

Dedicated to providing you and your little ones with the best activities, local reviews, and events in the Chester County area!

Jack Gives Back

life with my busy bee

The HeART

The heart & art of being a beautiful mess

Simple and Balanced Life

A fine WordPress.com site

seasons of growth

living, learning, and loving in China :)

Kilburn 365

a new year of happy, one picture at a time

Growing Wilder

Family and Farming

Crawfords On The Move

life with my busy bee

In High Spirits

life with my busy bee

life with my busy bee

Curry Clan Column

life with my busy bee

Run Inspired

Trying to balance life as a single mommy, runner, teacher and coach.

Work of the People

Words about Worship at Westminster (say that 3 times fast)

Eco Blog - Mom Blog Philadelphia | Jeannette Bezinque

Eco Incognito - Blending sensible Eco Solutions with the suburban Philadelphia lifestyle.

the busy baby

life with my busy bee

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

