Gasoline Lipgloss

11 Feb

I know I’m not alone in thinking that my child is the smartest one on the planet.   I try to limit my bragging to my husband, my in-laws, and my parents because I am sure its extremely off-putting.   Its not that I really believe she is smarter than anyone else’s child; its just that I’m constantly blown away when she obtains new knowledge.  I get so excited when she correctly points out something blue and says “boo” or correctly identifies a picture of a person she’s only met once.   Before you stop reading because you think I’m going to write an entire post about how smart my kid is, I want you to know that I’m going in the complete opposite direction with this one.  To keep things in perspective for myself, I’ve compiled a list of things she does that make no sense.   We are honestly baffled by this stuff.  One minute Chris and I are looking at each other like “future Neurosurgeon over here” and the next minute we’re like “there goes Harvard…”

Here is what I mean :

*Annaliese frequently opens the door to the gasoline tank of her Cozy Coupe, puts her finger in, and then licks it.   When we first saw her do it, Chris asked me if that was something I had ever done while getting gas in my car.  Actually no, I’ve never put my finger in the gas tank of my car and then licked it.  I can safely say she did not learn that one from me.

*On more than one occasion, Annaliese has reached into her mouth, pretended to pick something out of her teeth, and then wiped it in my hand.  I don’t even have a guess where she learned that or what she thinks she is accomplishing.

*Another bizarre behavior is when Annaliese will stand up, point to where she was just sitting, and smell the air like something might not be right.  Its as if she’s warning us, “Hey guys, where I was just sitting smells really bad so be careful.”    Its worth noting that this does not happen after she passes gas.

*Last but not least, she refers to a cat as “na”.  We are so confused by this because she can say the “c” sound and can also clearly say “hat.”  Logic would tell you that those two sounds could be put together to form the word cat.  We have no clue where “na” came from.

 

For the rest of Annaliese’s life, I will always think she is brilliant.  However, when she receives her PhD in Bioengineering, I might have to remind her that she used to use her gasoline tank as lipgloss.

9 Responses to “Gasoline Lipgloss”

  1. Chloe February 11, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    On the cat issue…is she trying to meow? Ben would make animal noises before identifying the animal. You’re on your own with the gas tank issue! I don’t know how to decipher that one, lol! Ben is obsessed with identifying pairs. All superman things belong together one place while Thomas the tank engine belongs over there. Somewhat impressive, borderline neurotic. Only time will tell…

    • thebusybaby February 12, 2013 at 8:43 am #

      That is so cute. I guess you can’t really be upset about a kid who likes to stay semi-organized right?
      I actually don’t know if we’ve ever told Annaliese that a cat says ‘meow’. Oops! Off to do that now…

  2. Laura February 12, 2013 at 8:26 am #

    Thanks for the laugh attack!!!

  3. Khanh February 12, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    This is hilarious! She is by far the smartest girl I know (she identifies me, her best friend “Kha” in pictures, right?) Thanks for sharing!

    • thebusybaby February 12, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      Yes! We still talk about you all the time. ‘R’s are tricky but we’ll start working on Ryan.

  4. Nana February 12, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    It would be fascinating if only we knew what was in her thought bubble. Thanks for sharing what makes me smile when I think of Annaliese-that she is her own fascinating self.

  5. Becky February 12, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    Cute 🙂

  6. Andrea Curry February 21, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    Love the gasoline lipgloss. Caleb is currently recovering from an obsession with taking off his socks to look for fuzzies inbetween his toes. I wasn’t concerned until he started doing it to other people!

    • thebusybaby February 23, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

      He is too funny! As long as he figures it out before middle school I think he’ll be ok.

Leave a Reply

Pregnancy & Parenting: The Real Deal

What pregnancy and parenting are really like

life with my busy bee

The Bloggess

life with my busy bee

Chester County Moms

life with my busy bee

Jack Gives Back

life with my busy bee

The HeART

The heart & art of being a beautiful mess

Simple and Balanced Life

A fine WordPress.com site

seasons of growth

living, learning, and loving in China :)

Kilburn 365

a new year of happy, one picture at a time

Growing Wilder

Family and Farming

Crawfords On The Move

life with my busy bee

In High Spirits

life with my busy bee

life with my busy bee

Curry Clan Column

life with my busy bee

Run Inspired

Trying to balance life as a single mommy, runner, teacher and coach.

Work of the People

Words about Worship at Westminster (say that 3 times fast)

Eco Blog - Mom Blog Philadelphia | Jeannette Bezinque

Eco Incognito - Blending sensible Eco Solutions with the suburban Philadelphia lifestyle.

the busy baby

life with my busy bee

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

