Week 4

30 Jan

Good news!  At the top of my blog I have added a new page.  You can click on ‘365 Days of Unplugged Play’ to see a condensed list of all of the activities we have done so far.  I’m hoping it will act as a reference to any mom who needs a little inspiration on a slow day.  Here is my Week 4 recap:

Day 22 – Today I made a tray of raspberry Jell-o so when Annaliese got up from her nap we could make Jell-o jigglers.  I thought this would be fun and kind of messy but it was neither.  She didn’t enjoy it at all and I had to make them myself.  I will say that Chris was pretty excited to come home to some Jell-o in the fridge so I guess that’s a win.

Day 23 – Today we looked through photo albums together.  This was definitely an activity we both liked.  She enjoyed pointing out family and friends that she recognized.  I’m looking forward to doing this more with her as she gets older.  I told her stories about what was happening in each of the pictures.  For instance, “This was mommy and daddy on their honeymoon.  See how tan and rich they look?”

Day 24 – In a burst of inspiration I modified a Simon Says game for us today.  Annaliese has been really good at following directions lately and seems to enjoy doing what we say. (how long does this last exactly?)  I gave her a simple instruction and we both ran to complete it.  For example, “Run and put your hand on the window!”.  We ran all around downstairs completing the tasks.  It was a good way to get a little energy out too.

Day 25 – This activity was a pretty simple one.  I put out plastic cups and goldfish crackers.  We sorted the fish into different cups, and it actually held her attention for quite a while.  I tried to make it a little deeper by talking about how many fish were in each cup, how many are left when we take one out, etc.  Surprisingly, putting goldfish in and out of cups is pretty entertaining.

Day 26 – Good old fashioned coloring!  Today I simply gave Annaliese some crayons, markers, and paper and let her go to town.  She is getting better and better at holding markers and crayons.  Once she created a few masterpieces we hung them up in the playroom.

Day 27 – Because I have such a little helper now I try to take full advantage when I can.  As a special “privilege”  Annaliese got to help me sort the laundry today! (Lucky girl)  She actually loves helping with the laundry.  I also tried to make this one a little more educational by talking about the colors of the clothes, sorting them into piles, etc.

Day 28 – Couch ball pit day!  A long time ago we bought 2 bags of colored balls from Target.  Definitely an awesome purchase.  Today I took the cushions off of the couch and made it into a ball pit.  We both jumped in and had a lot of fun playing together.   Here are a few pictures.

1.30.13 015 1.30.13 0131.30.13 004

 

I have a surprise coming on my blog next week so be sure to check back in!

One Response to “Week 4”

  1. Nana January 31, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    I hear the teacher/Mom in you making these activities a little deeper by talking about counting, subtracting, colors, and sorting. Good for you for making these teachable moments as I am certain it would not have occurred to me to make these activities deeper. You two have so much fun together!

Leave a Reply

Pregnancy & Parenting: The Real Deal

What pregnancy and parenting are really like

life with my busy bee

Chester County Moms

Dedicated to providing you and your little ones with the best activities, local reviews, and events in the Chester County area!

Jack Gives Back

life with my busy bee

The HeART

The heart & art of being a beautiful mess

Simple and Balanced Life

A fine WordPress.com site

seasons of growth

living, learning, and loving in China :)

Kilburn 365

a new year of happy, one picture at a time

Growing Wilder

Family and Farming

Crawfords On The Move

life with my busy bee

In High Spirits

life with my busy bee

life with my busy bee

Curry Clan Column

life with my busy bee

Run Inspired

Trying to balance life as a single mommy, runner, teacher and coach.

Work of the People

Words about Worship at Westminster (say that 3 times fast)

Eco Blog - Mom Blog Philadelphia | Jeannette Bezinque

Eco Incognito - Blending sensible Eco Solutions with the suburban Philadelphia lifestyle.

the busy baby

life with my busy bee

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

