How do I look in green?

19 Jan

A few years ago when a lot of ideas were being tossed around about being “green” I remember turning up my nose.  I’m not a bandwagon-type person and this seemed like a very trendy thing to do.  Everywhere I looked celebrities were talking about the environment and what they were doing to save it.  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to erase the picture of Sheryl Crow only using one square of toilet paper per wipe from my mind.  Over the years I started to warm up to the idea as I realized it wasn’t going away.  Striving to be eco-friendly isn’t just a trend anymore and I hate to admit it but I might be jumping on the bandwagon.

I started to get more interested in the idea of being “green” when we purchased our house this summer.  I’ll be honest; I initially started looking into it for the money savings.  I realized how much money we were throwing in the trash and wanted to see if there were easy things I could do to fix it.  Because I do not work, Chris and I keep to a pretty tight budget each month.  I knew if I made some simple changes we could save even more money than what we already were.  As I started making a few changes I realized how good it felt being a little kinder to the environment in addition to our wallets.

I’d like to share a few ideas with you.  These are just a few things our family is trying out.

1. Reusable cloth – We have switched from paper towels and napkins to reusable cloths.  Before we tried this out, Chris did some experimenting of his own and actually made us share a napkin during our meals.  This was the point where we both realized exactly how much paper towel we were using and throwing away every day.  During an enlightening trip to Oklahoma in September,  my friends Taylor and Zach introduced me to the idea of using reusable cloths.  We switched soon after and haven’t looked back.  The cost savings is great but honestly I like using them so much better than paper towel.  They are more absorbent and are nice to clean with as well.  Every few days I just throw them in the washing machine.

2. Cloth Baby Wipes – Along those same lines I also switched to cloth wipes for A. I cut up a bunch of her flannel baby blankets into small squares.  I have a little spray bottle with water and a tiny bit of baby soap in it.  I use that to wet the wipes individually as needed.  Every few days I throw a load of these into the washing machine too.  Again, great cost savings!

3. Reusable grocery bags – These aren’t really saving us any money but they really are convenient.  They can hold so many more groceries than a plastic bag and are easy to throw over your shoulder when your hands are full of toddler.

4.  Reusable produce bags – My parents bought me these for Christmas and they are so awesome! Again, no cost savings but those plastic produce bags serve no purpose once you get home.

5. Watt watching – I have to credit Chris with this one.  He has been on fire lately with making our house run more efficiently.  He has been working on our insulation a lot, driving me crazy with turning all of the lights off, and finding ways to save us money on our energy bill.  In the process we are using less electricity which is a savings and better for the environment.

6. Efficiently using groceries – I can also credit Chris with helping me to get better at this.  I never really enjoyed leftovers before.  I was bored with the food after eating it once so why would I want to eat it the next night?  I call Chris the Leftover King because he can masterfully make something delicious a few nights in a row.  We have seen a decline in our grocery bill because we are using the groceries we buy more efficiently.  If I buy an ingredient for one recipe, I make sure I can use the rest of that ingredient for something else that week.  We are throwing out less and less food which means less waste and more money in our pocket.

 

These are just a few ways we have been trying to get a little “green” over here.  Our plans for the spring are to try out some gardening and also line dry our clothes.  I’d love to hear from everyone what little things they do to help the environment and their family budget at the same time!

7 Responses to “How do I look in green?”

  1. ecoincognito January 19, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    We do a lot of green things around the home. Whenever I get stumped, I just think “what would a pioneer do” and it suddenly clicks. It was hard going green at first, so I think it’s great that you’re finding it to be such a positive experience!

    • thebusybaby January 19, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

      So smart! Everyone should check out your blog for great ideas as well. I can always get inspired by your posts!

  2. taylorkilburn January 19, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    I was a paper towel addict but love the reusable cloths so much more, glad you do too! I also really like line drying clothes-you will be shocked how fresh and white everything gets. I put everything in the sun to disinfect!

    My other favorite tip to make your house baby/family/environmentally/budget friendly is cleaning EVERYTHING with a vinegar/water solution. I just do roughly half vinegar half water in a spray bottle, it gets mirrors and windows more streak free than gross chemical stuff. I even use it in one of those spray mops you can put your own solution in on all of our floors! It smells a little funky right after you use it but as soon as it dries you cant smell anything. A huge jug of vinegar costs less than any cleaning solution you could buy and lasts forever (they also make cleaning grade vinegar that is even cheaper)!

    You have officially inspired me to switch to cloth wipes! Cutting up blankets tomorrow, love you friend!

    • thebusybaby January 19, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      Love that idea! Since becoming a mom I’ve realized how harsh most cleaners are. I’ll definitely try this out.
      Good luck with the cloth wipes! You’re a cloth diaper momma so this will be no biggie for you.

  3. Chris January 19, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    Don’t forget about the fresh, local, grass-fed, free-range, organic, lean red meat your husband brings home from the woods.

  4. Kristen January 20, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    Great post Jordan! These are all such easy and simple changes to save money and go green!

  5. Nana January 20, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    I love following your blog. Keep it coming!

Leave a Reply

Pregnancy & Parenting: The Real Deal

What pregnancy and parenting are really like

life with my busy bee

Chester County Moms

Dedicated to providing you and your little ones with the best activities, local reviews, and events in the Chester County area!

Jack Gives Back

life with my busy bee

The HeART

The heart & art of being a beautiful mess

Simple and Balanced Life

A fine WordPress.com site

seasons of growth

living, learning, and loving in China :)

Kilburn 365

a new year of happy, one picture at a time

Growing Wilder

Family and Farming

Crawfords On The Move

life with my busy bee

In High Spirits

life with my busy bee

life with my busy bee

Curry Clan Column

life with my busy bee

Run Inspired

Trying to balance life as a mom of 2, runner, teacher and coach.

Work of the People

Words about Worship at Westminster (say that 3 times fast)

Eco Blog - Mom Blog Philadelphia | Jeannette Bezinque

Eco Incognito - Blending sensible Eco Solutions with the suburban Philadelphia lifestyle.

the busy baby

life with my busy bee

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

