Week 2!

14 Jan

I’ll start out by saying this week was a little rough.  We’ve had illness running rampant in the family, and it was a little tough to get Grumpy Pants excited about some of the ideas I had planned.  Here’s to a better week 3!

Day 7 – Grandma gets the credit for today’s activity.  She watched A while I tutored.  Together Grandma and A happily set up a doll hospital in the living room.  They used a doctor’s kit to look in the little patients’ ears, check their blood pressure, and listen to their heart beats.  A has been really into playing with dolls lately so this was a fun afternoon for her!

Day 8 – Today we played Hide and Seek with one of A’s new stuffed animals.  I thought this one would go over well because she has really enjoyed hiding food at mealtime and making me search for it under her plate.  She didn’t have the greatest day so this activity wasn’t really her favorite.  I hid her stuffed dog in various places and asked her to help me look for it.  I thought it was fun at least….Here is a picture of the dog hiding in the microwave.  He’s a tricky little guyImage

Day 9 – Today we had a little tupperware party on the floor.  I let her go nuts with some spoons and various sizes of tupperware containers.  She enjoyed this one.  Anything involving messes and noise is right up her alley.

Day 10 – This one is a little weird but I let her play in our bed today.  She absolutely loved it.  She thought it was so funny to crawl under the blankets, hide from me, and pretend she’s asleep.  I highly recommend this activity for any moms who are extra tired one day or maybe not feeling so well.  Who doesn’t want to lay in bed for a few extra minutes while their child happily plays by themselves?  Look at this happy little face :

Image

Day 11 – Another day of not feeling so hot.  We took some of A’s letter magnets off of the fridge and tested out what they would stick to.  She wasn’t super excited about this idea and lost interest pretty quickly.  Perhaps she will like it more when she’s older?

Day 12 – Today Daddy was home so he got to take over for a little bit!  He took A on a nice long wagon ride.  She loves to be in her wagon and loves spending time with Daddy.

Day 13 – We took a family trip to a nearby farm called Springton Manor.  It was a lot of fun.  A loves animals so she was thrilled to rotate between the goats, sheep, cows, and horses.  There were also some nice walking trails so we strapped on the Ergo to explore a little bit.  Here we are making the most of the dreary day.

Image

Day 14 – We are going to give credit to Daddy for today’s idea.  Yesterday our family handyman had to turn off the electricity for a few minutes so A and I got to play with the flashlights.  She really enjoyed it so we spent some more time exploring with them today.  We made it as dark as possible and used the flashlights to make shadows on the walls.  She thought it was pretty funny to have the flashlight in her shirt.

 

I guess the week wasn’t so bad!  Hoping the sickness leaves our house very soon.

 

6 Responses to “Week 2!”

  1. Melissa January 14, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    I can’t believe you still wear her on your front! OUCH! LOL. But good ideas, I love time in Mommy’s bed too!

    • thebusybaby January 14, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

      I need to practice getting her on my back. It’s kind of tricky! The real reason I wear her in front is I’m lazy. 🙂

  2. taylorkilburn January 14, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

    I cannot believe how big she is getting! Sounds like unplugged play is a hit, hoping for a healthy week next week! Sick babies are the pits!

  3. Laura January 14, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    Looks like it was a good week in spite of the cold and who doesn’t need a jammie pants day now and then!

  4. Andrea Curry January 15, 2013 at 7:38 am #

    I hope you’re feeling better! I’m going to try the hide the stuffed animal this week and see if it works. Also, the “play in bed” while mommy lays down is one of my favorites! My mom used to do that with the three of us. She made the room pitch dark and had us pretend we were on a cruise ship. We always ended up in Disney World and she always ended up sleeping!

    • thebusybaby January 15, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

      That is too funny. You were each in your own paradise….kids in Disney, mom with a nap!

Leave a Reply

Pregnancy & Parenting: The Real Deal

What pregnancy and parenting are really like

life with my busy bee

Chester County Moms

Dedicated to providing you and your little ones with the best activities, local reviews, and events in the Chester County area!

Jack Gives Back

life with my busy bee

The HeART

The heart & art of being a beautiful mess

Simple and Balanced Life

A fine WordPress.com site

seasons of growth

living, learning, and loving in China :)

Kilburn 365

a new year of happy, one picture at a time

Growing Wilder

Family and Farming

Crawfords On The Move

life with my busy bee

In High Spirits

life with my busy bee

life with my busy bee

Curry Clan Column

life with my busy bee

Run Inspired

Trying to balance life as a mom of 2, runner, teacher and coach.

Work of the People

Words about Worship at Westminster (say that 3 times fast)

Eco Blog - Mom Blog Philadelphia | Jeannette Bezinque

Eco Incognito - Blending sensible Eco Solutions with the suburban Philadelphia lifestyle.

the busy baby

life with my busy bee

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

