365 Days of Unplugged Play – Week 1

6 Jan

Here is my first update on my New Year’s Resolution.  If you haven’t read about my resolution yet, here is the post : https://thebusybaby.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/new-years-resolution/

Day 1 – A helped me make muffins.  My parents got A a Kitchen Helper for Christmas this year.  A absolutely loves helping me in the kitchen so this was the perfect gift.  This might not sound like everyone’s definition of “playing” but A thinks it is!  She loves to be a helper.  Here is a picture of her helping to stir.

Image

Day 2 – Today we packed up our Christmas decorations and took down our tree.  A was incredibly interested in the cleaning up of the pine needles.  She liked watching Chris sweep the pine needles off of the front porch.  I decided to take her lead and let her “play” clean some things.  She mostly used the broom and swept around the house.  She liked moving the rugs out of the way just like Mommy and Daddy do.

***Ok so at this point I realize our playing so far sounds like child labor.  I promise these are really things that A is interested in, and I try to follow her lead when we play together***

Day 3 – I draped quilts and blankets over our dining room table to make a little tent/fort.  A and I read books under there for a while.  She liked it so much that we also ate lunch under there.  I think this was my favorite thing we did this week.  She kept laughing when we were under the table so I could tell she was having fun too.  You can tell from the picture how much she enjoyed it.

Image

Day 4 – Today we put colored ice cubes in the tub during bathtime.  I found the idea on Pinterest ( http://www.mommysavers.com/frugal-bathtime-fun-for-baby/ )  A really liked this activity.  She liked watching the water turn all different colors and kept using the sign for “more” to let me know I needed to hurry up with the next ice cube.

Day 5 – Today A and I went to a Busy Bag Swap with a group of ladies I used to work with.  We had such a blast.  These teachers are a creative bunch! When we got home A refused to nap (she had consumed her weight in doughnut holes) so we had lots of play time.  I let her play with all of her new busy bags, and she had such a great time.  If you’re not sure what a busy bag is, here is one website with an explanation : http://www.playcreateexplore.com/p/busy-bags.html  There are a million ideas out there and it is a great way to entertain a toddler in and out of the house!

Day 6 – Today Chris and I took A to Petsmart.  We have done this many times on rainy or cold days, and she loves it.  I think she’d spend hours in there if we let her.  She runs back and forth between the fish, birds, and hamsters.  We view it as a scaled down, free zoo/aquarium.

 

I think our first week was a success!  I am excited to keep going with my resolution.  It really forced me to try some new things with A and bring back some old favorites.  It also made me realize that some of the most simple things we do are the most fun for both of us.  Looking forward to week 2!

 

9 Responses to “365 Days of Unplugged Play – Week 1”

  1. Nana January 6, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    I can see by her big grin that reading and eating under the tented table was a lot of fun for both of you.

  2. Kristen January 6, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

    WHat a fun week! I love the tent idea! One of Tyler’s favorite things to do is to paint in the tub with colored shaving cream. Look it up on pinterest…made for a fun time! Enjoy this week!

    • thebusybaby January 6, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

      That sounds like a ton of fun! We will definitely try that one. Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. Andrea Curry January 6, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

    Thanks for the post! I think I’m going to try a couple of these this week =)

  4. Becky January 6, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

    Love these! I was just thinking of doing the tent thing because Maya is always climbing under the table. Now we definitely will! We also baked together for the first time tonight and it was so fun. I love how we can do more and more with them all the time!

    • thebusybaby January 14, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

      So glad you had fun baking together. It’s one of my favorite things to do with Annaliese…and definitely one of the messiest.

  5. Laura January 7, 2013 at 6:39 am #

    Love, Love the table tent! So glad you had a good week! Looking forward to next week!

  6. ecoincognito January 20, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    These are fantastic ideas! I may need your advice on teaching a toddler how to stir. My LO goes at any kitchen task with such ferocity that food ends up everywhere.

Leave a Reply

Pregnancy & Parenting: The Real Deal

What pregnancy and parenting are really like

life with my busy bee

The Bloggess

life with my busy bee

Chester County Moms

life with my busy bee

Jack Gives Back

life with my busy bee

The HeART

The heart & art of being a beautiful mess

Simple and Balanced Life

A fine WordPress.com site

seasons of growth

living, learning, and loving in China :)

Kilburn 365

a new year of happy, one picture at a time

Growing Wilder

Family and Farming

Crawfords On The Move

life with my busy bee

In High Spirits

life with my busy bee

life with my busy bee

Curry Clan Column

life with my busy bee

Run Inspired

Trying to balance life as a single mommy, runner, teacher and coach.

Work of the People

Words about Worship at Westminster (say that 3 times fast)

Eco Blog - Mom Blog Philadelphia | Jeannette Bezinque

Eco Incognito - Blending sensible Eco Solutions with the suburban Philadelphia lifestyle.

the busy baby

life with my busy bee

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

