New Year’s Resolution

31 Dec

I hardly ever set New Year’s Resolutions because I’m just not good at thinking that long term.  I feel like if I do set them, I will just be setting myself up to fail.  I do like the idea of starting fresh though!

I’ve decided this year I’d like to try something fun.  I saw an idea last year that I thought was pretty cool.  The person took 1 picture every single day of the year.  The picture summed up something that was happening that day, and at the end of the year they could look back at all 365 days of pictures.  Cool right?  I’d like to try something similar this year but I’m going to do 365 Days of Play.  Since I stay at home with A, we are together and playing A LOT.  Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t trade it for anything, but some days I feel like the things we do get a little stale.   I am hoping to find 1 new thing each day for us to do together.  Here is how I would like it to go:

365 Days of Unplugged Play

-Each day after nap time I will have an activity planned for A.  It will be something simple we can do around the house.  It will not be expensive or take a lot of time to set up or clean up.

-The activity won’t involve TV or the computer.  I think both of these things have value but in moderation.  A likes to look at pictures of dogs on the computer and she likes to dance along with the Fresh Beat Band, but we keep screen time at the minimum over here.

-I will update about once a week on here with what activities we did and post a few pictures.

I am really looking forward to this challenge.  I’m a little anxious about coming up with 365 different things for us to do but it’ll be fun to push myself!  I like to do creative things with A, and she always appreciates the effort, so we’ll see how it goes.  I am also open to any suggestions you’d like to send my way for what fun things you like to do with your kids that are low cost and unplugged.  Wish me luck and Happy New Year!

3 Responses to “New Year’s Resolution”

  1. Laura December 31, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    Love this idea!! Good Luck and I will be thinking of suggestions for your resolution!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 365 Days of Unplugged Play – Week 1 | the busy baby - January 6, 2013

    […] Here is my first update on my New Year’s Resolution.  If you haven’t read about my resolution yet, here is the post : https://thebusybaby.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/new-years-resolution/ […]

  2. Week 3 | the busy baby - January 22, 2013

    […] a run down of our activities.  If you’re not familiar with my New Year’s Resolution, here is the original […]

Leave a Reply

Pregnancy & Parenting: The Real Deal

What pregnancy and parenting are really like

life with my busy bee

Chester County Moms

Dedicated to providing you and your little ones with the best activities, local reviews, and events in the Chester County area!

Jack Gives Back

life with my busy bee

The HeART

The heart & art of being a beautiful mess

Simple and Balanced Life

A fine WordPress.com site

seasons of growth

living, learning, and loving in China :)

Kilburn 365

a new year of happy, one picture at a time

Growing Wilder

Family and Farming

Crawfords On The Move

life with my busy bee

In High Spirits

life with my busy bee

life with my busy bee

Curry Clan Column

life with my busy bee

Run Inspired

Trying to balance life as a single mommy, runner, teacher and coach.

Work of the People

Words about Worship at Westminster (say that 3 times fast)

Eco Blog - Mom Blog Philadelphia | Jeannette Bezinque

Eco Incognito - Blending sensible Eco Solutions with the suburban Philadelphia lifestyle.

the busy baby

life with my busy bee

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

