Christmas Whirlwind

26 Dec

I feel like I have been lacking a little on the blog posts so I’ll share what a great Christmas we had!  I’m guessing this is going to end up being full of pictures.

We kicked off the Christmas Whirlwind on Friday by attending the wedding of Chris’s good friend from college.  A stayed home with my mom and sister.  Chris and I never go out by ourselves so it was a really nice evening.  The wedding was beautiful and we had a great time.

Saturday we celebrated Christmas with Chris’s parents since they were going to be in Ohio for Christmas Eve and Day.  We had dinner and then opened presents.  A is absolutely in love with the kitchen she received from her Nana and Pop Pop.

Image

I’m not kidding when I say we couldn’t get her to stop playing with it.  I won’t post the pictures we took,  but after her bath she ran down to get in a little more naked playtime with the kitchen.  Chris and I were happy to receive a trip to visit Chris’s brother, his wife, and new baby in Chicago.  We have yet to meet A’s first cousin so we are excited to start planning the trip!

Sunday we relaxed a little in the morning and then went out to celebrate my birthday with my parents and sisters.  It was a lot of fun.  I always love having them home and it always goes by way too quickly.

Monday was Christmas Eve.  We went to Christmas Eve church service at 5:00.  Here is us in front of the tree before we left.

Image

Even though A looks sleepy here, she did a great job during the church service.  She really liked the music and Aunt Hannah was able to keep her occupied with her cherry chapstick.  After church we came back here to have dinner and open one gift (a Christmas Eve tradition in my family).  We opened gifts from our family dog Zoe (she always knows what we will like).  Everyone left and Chris and I got ready for Santa’s visit.  I had such a hard time falling asleep that night!  I felt like I woke up every 2 hours.  I was just so excited for A to wake up and see all of her gifts.

It is tradition in Chris’s family to take a picture on the stairs on Christmas morning.  We are continuing with the tradition so here is A in her Christmas pjs

Image

She was really good at opening up her own gifts this year so it was a lot of fun.  I think one of her favorite gifts from Santa were her Touch and Feel flashcards.

Image

I think they will be great entertainment in the car!  She also loved the backpack from her friend Sage in Oklahoma.  We actually couldn’t get her to take it off for most of the day.

Image

Once we opened all of our gifts we packed up and headed over to my family’s house for more presents and breakfast.  It was complete chaos over there and I loved it.  It wouldn’t be a family Christmas without wrapping paper being thrown all over the place, yelling over each other to see what the other person got, and giving “shine” to whoever opened a fun gift.  A fit right into the madness and was playing with her own gifts as well as everyone else’s.  I think her favorite gift from Grandma and Pop was the Learning Tower she received from them earlier.  We have been cooking and baking together a lot and we both love that thing.  I’ll post a picture and rave review of it soon.  This is not the best picture of her but I feel like it illustrates how exhausted she was after all of the gifts were opened.

Image

She sat in that chair for about 5 minutes and looked like she was going to fall asleep.  We packed up the car and headed home so we could all take naps.

This was one of the best Christmases I can remember.  Last year was A’s first one but she was only 6 months old.  This year was so great because she could really participate.  It has been so much fun watching her play with all of her new things.  Christmas has always been fun but its even more fun experiencing it through the eyes of a little one.  I am really looking forward to next year when she’ll understand even more about the holiday.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas as well!  Looking forward to blogging about my New Year’s Resolution soon 🙂

11 Responses to “Christmas Whirlwind”

  1. ecoincognito December 26, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    She looks right at home in that kitchen! Did she get the magnetic fruit that you can “cut” apart?

    • thebusybaby December 27, 2012 at 9:06 am #

      She loves the kitchen! She got velcro fruits and veggies to cut apart. They have definitely become a fast favorite…for her and me.

  2. Hannah December 26, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    I still never got my chapstick back…

    • thebusybaby December 27, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      I’m pretty sure it had a toddler’s finger all the way inside of it. Not sure you really want that back.

  3. Nana December 27, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Seeing Christmas through the eyes of your little kids truly is the best. My favorite moment from this Christmas was watching A getting right to work organizing her new kitchen-like an adult might-moving things from one place to another, and then back again.

    • thebusybaby December 27, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      At this point her kitchen is slightly more organized than mine is…

  4. Lauren December 27, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    That picture of A in the backpack…it looks like she’s ready to fly off to space with a jetback. She’s too funny. So happy you had a wonderful Christmas! I’m sure next year will be even more amazing with a 2.5 year old obsessing over Santa. Also, Knox is pretty much ready at any point to buy a full Santa suit and go door-to-door to people with kids’ houses that we know of and surprise them on Christmas Eve. (He did that every year in my pre-teen years to kids in the neighborhood and their nieces and nephews.)

    • thebusybaby December 27, 2012 at 11:39 am #

      Oh my gosh! As soon as Knox is ready to do the Santa thing, let me know. We’ll be the first in line. Also Knox is going to be a fantastic grandpa someday!

  5. Stan December 31, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    Yours is truly a blessed family. New family traditions began this year for the Dorgan family that will grow with time and become a treasured part of your family Christmas custom. We had a wonderful time sharing the new experiences together with you!

    • thebusybaby December 31, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      We had a great time with you guys too! How are those new crocs working out?

  6. Laura December 31, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    I love the new traditions mixed with the old….it was an amazing Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

Pregnancy & Parenting: The Real Deal

What pregnancy and parenting are really like

life with my busy bee

Chester County Moms

Dedicated to providing you and your little ones with the best activities, local reviews, and events in the Chester County area!

Jack Gives Back

life with my busy bee

The HeART

The heart & art of being a beautiful mess

Simple and Balanced Life

A fine WordPress.com site

seasons of growth

living, learning, and loving in China :)

Kilburn 365

a new year of happy, one picture at a time

Growing Wilder

Family and Farming

Crawfords On The Move

life with my busy bee

In High Spirits

life with my busy bee

life with my busy bee

Curry Clan Column

life with my busy bee

Run Inspired

Trying to balance life as a mom of 2, runner, teacher and coach.

Work of the People

Words about Worship at Westminster (say that 3 times fast)

Eco Blog - Mom Blog Philadelphia | Jeannette Bezinque

Eco Incognito - Blending sensible Eco Solutions with the suburban Philadelphia lifestyle.

the busy baby

life with my busy bee

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

