This gets sappy (you’ve been warned)

12 Dec

I’m feeling sort of sappy today so everyone is going to have to bear with me.  Yesterday was a particularly difficult day with little A so it left me reflecting on how it is that I have actually survived motherhood for the past 18 months.  I realized that I honestly don’t think I could have done it without the wide array of friendships that I have.  My friendships are so varied but I need every single one of them.  Here is my friendship inventory:

-I have a friend who has known me since I thought biking shorts and a soccer jersey were the ingredients to the perfect outfit.  This friend recently became a mommy too and we’ve grown even closer over this bond.  Even though we no longer live close by, I don’t know what I’d do without her sense of humor to get me through the good and bad times.

-I have a friend who I first bonded with over making NSYNC paper plates. (Don’t ask) Although she is not a mom yet, she has been one of the people who has been the most enthusiastic and supportive of me starting my family.  She reminds me of who I am outside of just being a mom and wife and makes my stomach hurt from laughing so hard.

-I have a friend who I first bonded with over Mario Kart and disgusting college cafeteria nachos.  She has always been a voice of reason for me and someone I greatly admire.  I don’t know where I’d be without her today considering she taught me how to make my bed in college.

-I also have the type of friends that you don’t choose.  I truly consider my parents and my two sisters to be my friends.  They are the type of friends that you can send a 1 word text message to and they immediately know what you’re referencing and why its funny.  Their unconditional love and support makes me feel like I can accomplish anything.

-I also consider my husband my friend.  Probably my best friend.  He teaches me something new everyday.  There isn’t anyone else I would choose to be on this ride along with me.

-In a new emerging category in my life are my mom friends.  Some are new and some I’ve known for a little longer.  They are the ones I can e-mail in pure frustration and get a response reassuring me that I’m not completely crazy.  Its so special to be forming these bonds with other moms.  I’m always surprised at how much I can learn from them.  Its just nice to know someone else is up at 3 AM wondering if they’re going to get to go back to sleep sometime soon.

So there you go.  I told you it would be a little sappy.  I’m just feeling grateful for all of the wonderful people I have in my life and all of the new friendships I’ve formed recently.  It really does take a village to raise a child…and keep that child’s mother from rocking back and forth in the corner and eating her hair.

7 Responses to “This gets sappy (you’ve been warned)”

  1. Khanh December 12, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    “keep that child’s mother from rocking back and forth in the corner and eating her hair”…has this happened?!

    I love you Jordan! I often think back to the days when we would talk about our future families and here you are, a dedicated wife, raising a beautiful child and doing an amazing job! Our friendship is such a blessing. I look forward to sharing many years and stages of life together!

    • thebusybaby December 13, 2012 at 2:50 am #

      That has come very close to happening….
      Love you too!

  2. Melissa December 13, 2012 at 1:56 am #

    Yes, no worries, I’m up at 3am wondering if I get to go back (or even really start) sleep! Amen for friends, I’m with you on that!!!!!

    • thebusybaby December 13, 2012 at 2:48 am #

      Fingers crossed for you tonight! Hope that sweet little face stays in her room tonight 🙂

  3. Taylor Kilburn December 13, 2012 at 2:34 am #

    I’m just going to throw out there that I don’t see anything wrong with wearing bike shorts and soccer jerseys so… Thanks for being my oldest, wisest and dearest friend. You make me a better person.

    • thebusybaby December 13, 2012 at 2:47 am #

      I hope one day that our daughters can wear their bike shorts and soccer jerseys together. We picked some pretty feminine names though. No chance they’ll both get put in the boys cabin.

  4. Laura December 13, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    The reference to being in the corner and eating your hair has worked for all of us for many years. It will always make me laugh, and realize we are all closer to that corner than we like to admit. I love you with all my heart and am blessed to be a part of your friendship circle.

Leave a Reply

Pregnancy & Parenting: The Real Deal

What pregnancy and parenting are really like

life with my busy bee

Chester County Moms

Dedicated to providing you and your little ones with the best activities, local reviews, and events in the Chester County area!

Jack Gives Back

life with my busy bee

The HeART

The heart & art of being a beautiful mess

Simple and Balanced Life

A fine WordPress.com site

seasons of growth

living, learning, and loving in China :)

Kilburn 365

a new year of happy, one picture at a time

Growing Wilder

Family and Farming

Crawfords On The Move

life with my busy bee

In High Spirits

life with my busy bee

life with my busy bee

Curry Clan Column

life with my busy bee

Run Inspired

Trying to balance life as a mom of 2, runner, teacher and coach.

Work of the People

Words about Worship at Westminster (say that 3 times fast)

Eco Blog - Mom Blog Philadelphia | Jeannette Bezinque

Eco Incognito - Blending sensible Eco Solutions with the suburban Philadelphia lifestyle.

the busy baby

life with my busy bee

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

